Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file

State Library of Kansas  :  Kansas Center for the Book  :  Letters About Literature  :  Past Winners

Letters About Literature Logo

Past Winners

Level 1: Grades 4-6      Level 2: Grades 7-8      Level 3: Grades 9-12

Click Red Links to Read Letter

Level Winner City Author Book Title
2011 - 1 Romila Santra Overland Park Cynthia Lord Rules
2011 - 2 Riley Brennan Overland Park Elie Weisel Night
2011 - 3 Robert Brian Ludwig Beloit Robert Newton Peck A Day No Pigs Would Die
2010 - 1 Kaylee Dale Lakin Ben Mikaelsen Touching Spirit Bear
2010 - 2 Cicely Krebill Fairway Frank DeFord An American Summer
2010 - 3 Kathryn Williams Beloit Chris Crutcher Chinese Handcuffs
2009 - 1 Lauren Marie Hart Overland Park Janet Lee Carey Wenny Has Wings
2009 - 2 Hannah Billings Shawnee Cynthia Lord Rules
2009 - 3 Jordan Schaper Olathe Pete Rose My Prison Without Bars
2008 - I Jamie
Stilwell Ann Martin  A Corner of the Universe
2008 - II Corinne Andreson Overland
Madeline L’Engle A Swiftly Tilting Planet
2008 - III Ammarah Usmani Wichita Firoozeh Dumas Funny in Farsi
2007 - I Grayce
Americus Susan
The Christmas Miracle
of Jonathan Toomey
2007 - II Francesca
Wichita Daniel Handler
(Lemony Snicket )
A Series of
Unfortunate Events
2007 - III Jamie
Ottawa Theodore Geisel
(Dr. Seuss)
Oh, The Places
You’ll Go!


2006 - I Jessi
Leawood Esme Raji Codell

 Sahara Special

2006 - II Anna
Mission Hills Wilson Rawls Where the Red Fern Grows
2006 - III Autumn
Ottawa Max Lucado You Are Special